Concert Performances

Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6, Pathétique

The Orchestra Now, conducted by Leon Botstein, performs Tchaikovsky‘s Symphony No. 6, Pathétique, in a livestreamed concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on February 5, 2022.

0:51 Adagio—Allegro non troppo (slow, then fast but not too fast)
18:55 Allegro con grazia (fast, with grace)
27:03 Allegro molto vivace (fast and very lively)
36:48 Finale: Adagio lamentoso (slow and mournful)

Pyotr Il’yich Tchaikovsky
Born: 5/7/1840 in Votkinsk, Russia
Died: 11/6/1893 at age 53 in St. Petersburg

Written: 1893, in Tchaikovsky’s early 50s
Premiered: 10/28/1893 at the Hall of Nobles in St. Petersburg; Russian Musical Society; Tchaikovsky, conductor

Concert notes by TŌN cellist Chas Barnard.