Concert Performances

Rachmaninoff’s Symphony No. 3

The Orchestra Now, conducted by Joseph Young, performs Rachmaninoff‘s Symphony No. 3 in a livestreamed concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on April 23, 2022.

0:35 Lento—Allegro moderato—Allegro (slow, then moderately fast, then fast)
14:12 Adagio ma non troppo—Allegro vivace (slow but not too slow, then lively and fast)
26:56 Allegro—Allegro vivace—Allegro (fast, then lively and fast, then fast)

Sergei Rachmaninof
Born: 4/1/1873 in either Oneg or Semyonovo, Russia
Died: 3/28/1943 at age 69 in Beverly Hills, CA

Written: 1935–36, in Rachmaninoff’s early 60s; revised 1938
Premiered: 11/6/1936 in Philadelphia; Philadelphia Orchestra; Leopold Stokowski, conductor

Concert notes by TŌN violist Batmyagmar Erdenebat.