Concert Performances

Mahler’s Symphony No. 5

The Orchestra Now, conducted by Leon Botstein, performs Mahler’s Symphony No. 5 in a livestreamed concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on Sep 10, 2022.

0:48 Trauermarsch: In gemessenem Schritt. Streng. Wie ein Kondukt (Funeral March: At a measured pace. Strict. Like a funeral procession)
12:59 Stürmisch bewegt. Mit größter Vehemenz (stormily, with the greatest vehemence)
27:29 Scherzo: Kräftig, nicht zu schnell (vigorously, not too fast)
47:02 Adagietto: Sehr langsam (very slow)
55:07 Rondo-Finale: Allegro (fast)

Gustav Mahler
Born: 7/7/1860 in Kaliště, Bohemia (now Czech Republic)
Died: 5/18/1911 at age 50 in Vienna

Written: 1901–02, in Mahler’s early 40s; revised repeatedly
Premiered: 10/18/1904 in Cologne; Gürzenich Orchestra; Mahler, conductor

Concert notes by TŌN violinist Yeseul Park