Vaughan Williams & Renaissance England

Program & Artists

Vaughan Williams Three Portraits from The England of Elizabeth
Artwork from the exhibition The Tudors: Art and Majesty in Renaissance England

Leon Botstein conductor


3-Concert series Up to 20% off the full price

Health & Safety Requirements

Part of TŌN’s Sight & Sound series

In the hit series Sight & Sound, conductor and music historian Leon Botstein explores the parallels between orchestral music and the visual arts. A discussion is accompanied by on-screen artworks and musical excerpts performed by The Orchestra Now, followed by a full performance and audience Q&A.

England was a thriving home for the arts under the volatile Tudor dynasty, where an international community of artists and merchants navigated the lofty demands of royal patrons including England’s first two reigning queens. In 1955, British documentarian John Taylor examined Elizabethan England against a regal score by composer Ralph Vaughan Williams. These selections from that score, adapted by Muir Mathieson, focus on three major figures of the Tudor era: Sir Francis Drake, William Shakespeare, and the namesake herself, Queen Elizabeth I.

Concert Details

The concert will last approximately 2 hours and 30 minutes.

>Read the concert program

Discussion, on-screen artworks, and musical excerpts
Leon Botstein and The Orchestra Now

20 min

Ralph Vaughan Williams Three Portraits from The England of Elizabeth
16 min

Q&A with the audience

All timings are approximate. Program and artists subject to change.

Sample the Music

Vaughan Williams Three Portraits from The England of Elizabeth

Image: Quentin Metsys the Younger. Elizabeth I of England (“The Sieve Portrait”) (detail), 1583. Oil on canvas. Pinacoteca Nazionale di Siena.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.