Concert Performances

Walter Braunfels’ Sinfonia brevis

The Orchestra Now, conducted by Leon Botstein, performs Walter Braunfels‘ Sinfonia brevis in a livestreamed concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on Oct 29, 2022.

0:15 Allegro (fast)
7:28 Adagio, ma non troppo (slow, but not too slow)
18:00 Scherzo: Allegro molto—Trio: Poco più lento (very fast, then a little more slow)
24:32 Finale: Moderato (at a moderate tempo)

Walter Braunfels
Born: 12/19/1882 in Frankfurt, Germany
Died: 3/19/1954 at age 71 in Cologne

Written: 1948, at age 65
Premiered: 4/4/1949 in Cologne; Günter Wand, conductor

Concert notes by TŌN violinist Lana Auerbach