Concert Performances

Ulysses Kay’s Scherzi Musicali

The Orchestra Now (TŌN), conducted by Andrés Rivas, performs Ulysses Kay‘s Scherzi Musicali in a livestreamed, physically distanced concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on November 14, 2020.

0:19 Andante solenne—Poco più mosso (moderately slow and solemn, then with a little more movement)
5:22 Interlude I (Lento) (slow)
6:54 Adagio—Più mosso (slow, then even slower)
11:53 Presto—Allegretto (quickly, then moderately fast)
15:00 Interlude II (Andantino) (moderate)
16:51 Allegro (fast)

Ulysses Kay
Born: 1/7/1917 in Tuscon, AZ
Died: 5/20/1995 at age 78 in Englewood, NJ

Written: 1968, at age 51
Premiered: 2/13/1969 in Detroit; Princeton Chamber Orchestra & Interlochen Arts Woodwind Quintet; Nicholas Harsanyi, conductor

Concert notes by TŌN horn player Ser Konvalin.