Concert Performances

Mahler’s Symphony No. 6

The Orchestra Now, conducted by Leon Botstein, performs Mahler‘s Symphony No. 6 in a livestreamed concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on September 17, 2023.

0:20 Allegro energico, ma non troppo (fast with energy, but not too fast)
23:53 Andante moderato (moderately slow)
38:19 Scherzo: Wuchtig (powerful
50:15 Finale: Allegro moderato—Allegro energico (moderately fast, then fast with energy)

Gustav Mahler
Born: 7/7/1860 in Kaliště, Bohemia (now Czech Republic)
Died: 5/18/1911 at age 50 in Vienna

Written: 1903–05, in Mahler’s mid 40s; revised in 1906
Premiered: 5/27/1906 at the Essen Festival of Contemporary Music in Essen, Germany; Mahler conductor

>Read concert notes by TŌN harpist Cheng Wei (Ashley) Lim