Concert Performances

Karl Amadeus Hartmann’s Symphony No. 1, Essay for a Requiem

The Orchestra Now, conducted by Leon Botstein, and mezzo-soprano Deborah Nansteel perform Karl Amadeus Hartmann‘s Symphony No. 1, Essay for a Requiem, in a livestreamed concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on May 7, 2022.

0:41 Introduction: Misery
4:01 Spring
9:09 Theme with Four Variations
18:13 Tears
27:19 Epilogue: Request

Karl Amadeus Hartmann
Born: 8/2/1905 in Munich
Died: 12/5/1963 at age 58 in Munich

Written: 1935–36, at age 30; revised 1944–45
Original Version Premiered: 1948 on Frankfurt Radio; Winfried Zillig, conductor
Final Version Premiered: 6/22/1957 in Vienna; Vienna Symphony Orchestra; Nin Sanzogno, conductor; Hilde Rössl-Majdan, contralto

Concert notes by TŌN percussionist Felix Ko.