Concert Performances

Janáček’s Sinfonietta 

The Orchestra Now, conducted by Leon Botstein, performs Janáček‘s Sinfonietta in a livestreamed concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on Oct 1, 2022.

0:11 Fanfare: Allegretto (moderately fast)
2:48 The Castle, Brno: Andante—Allegretto (moderately slow, then moderately fast)
9:18 The Queen’s Monastery, Brno: Moderato (at a moderate pace)
15:12 The Street Leading to the Castle: Allegretto (moderately fast)
18:27 The Town Hall, Brno: Allegro (fast)

Leoš Janáček
Born: 7/3/1854 in Hukvaldy, Moravia (now the Czech Republic)
Died: 8/12/1928 at age 74 in Moravská Ostrava, Moravia

Written: 1925–26, at age 71
Premiered: 6/16/1926 in Prague; Czech Philharmonic; Václav Talich, conductor

Concert notes by TŌN cellist Kelly Knox