Concert Performances

Carlos Chávez’s Piano Concerto

The Orchestra Now, conducted by Leon Botstein, and pianist Gilles Vonsattel perform Carlos Chávez‘s Piano Concerto in a livestreamed concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on May 7, 2022.

0:40 Largo non troppo—Allegro agitato (slow & dignified, then fast & agitated)
22:01 Molto lento (very slow)
31:36 Allegro non troppo (fast, but not too fast)

Carlos Chávez
Born: 6/13/1899 in Mexico City
Died: 8/2/1978 at age 79 in Mexico City

Written: 1938–40, in Chávez’s late 30s and early 40s; revised in 1969
Premiered: 1/1/1942 at Carnegie Hall; New York Philharmonic; Dimitri Mitropoulos, conductor; Eugene List, piano

Concert notes by TŌN clarinetist Juan Martinez.