Concert Performances

Bruckner’s Symphony No. 5

The Orchestra Now (TŌN), conducted by Leon Botstein, performs Bruckner’s Symphony No. 5 in a livestreamed concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on October 2, 2021.

0:12 Introduction: Adagio—Allegro (slow, then fast)
17:05 Adagio: Sehr langsam (very slow)
30:30 Scherzo: Molto vivace (Schnell)—Trio: Im gleichen Tempo (very lively and fast)
44:18 Finale: Adagio—Allegro moderato (slow, then moderately fast)

Anton Bruckner
Born: 9/4/1824 in Ansfelden, Austria
Died: 10/11/1896 at age 72 in Vienna

Written: 1875–76, in Bruckner’s early 50s; revised in 1878
Premiered: 4/8/1894 in Graz, Austria; Franz Schalk, conductor
First TŌN Performance: 9/24/2016 at the Fisher Center at Bard; Leon Botstein, conductor

Concert notes by TŌN bassoonist Cheryl Fries.