Concert Performances

Brahms’ A German Requiem

The Orchestra Now, conducted by Leon Botstein, and soloists from the Bard Conservatory Graduate Vocal Arts Program perform BrahmsA German Requiem in a livestreamed concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on April 2, 2022.​

Alexis Seminario VAP ’22 soprano
Jonathan Lawlor VAP ’23 baritone
Bard Festival Chorale
Bard College Chamber Singers
James Bagwell choral director
Lilly Cadow GCP ’22 assistant choral director

0:33 Opening remarks by conductor Leon Botstein
2:53 Selig sind, die da Leid tragen (Blessed are they that mourn)
13:00 Denn alles Fleisch es ist wie Gras (For all flesh is as grass)
26:22 Herr, lehre doch mich (Lord, teach me)
34:54 Wie lieblich sind deine Wohnungen (How lovely are thy dwelling places)
40:39 Ihr habt nun Traurigkeit (You now have sorrow)
46:55 Denn wir haben hie keine bleibende Statt (For we have here no continuing city)
58:36 Selig sind die Toten (Blessed are the dead)

Johannes Brahms
Born: 5/7/1833 in Hamburg, Germany
Died: 4/3/1897 at age 63 in Vienna

Written: 1861–68, in Brahms’ late 20s and early 30s
Full Work Premiered: 2/18/1869 in Leipzig; Gewandhaus Orchestra; Carl Reinecke, conductor; Emille Bellingrath-Wagner, soprano; Franz Krückl, baritone

Concert notes by TŌN violist Lucas Goodman.