Concert Performances

Bohuslav Martinů’s “The Frescoes of Piero della Francesca” 

The Orchestra Now, conducted by Leon Botstein, performs Bohuslav Martinů‘s The Frescoes of Piero della Francesca in a livestreamed concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on Oct 1, 2022.

0:11 Andante poco moderato (moderately slow)
11:30 Adagio (slow)
20:18 Poco allegro (a little fast)

Bohuslav Martinů
Born: 12/8/1890 in Polička, Bohemia (now Czech Republic)
Died: 8/28/1959 at age 68 in Liestal, Switzerland

Written: 1953–55, in Martinů’s mid 50s
Premiered: 8/26/1956 at the Salzburg Festival; Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra; Rafael Kubelik, conductor

Concert notes by TŌN cellist Isaac Kim