Concert Performances

Bernstein’s Serenade (after Plato’s Symposium)

The Orchestra Now (TŌN) and violin soloist Zongheng Zhang, conducted by Leon Botstein, performs Bernstein‘s Serenade (after Plato’s Symposium) in a livestreamed, physically distanced concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on April 10, 2021.

0:16 Phaedrus; Pausanias
8:05 Aristophanes
13:09 Eryximachus
15:13 Agathon
22:29 Socrates; Alcibiades

Leonard Bernstein
Born: 8/25/1918 in Lawrence, MA
Died: 10/14/1990 at age 72 in New York City

Written: 1953–54, at age 35
Premiered: 9/12/1954 at the Teatro La Fenice in Venice, Italy; Israel Philharmonic Orchestra; Bernstein, conductor; Isaac Stern, violin

Concert notes by TŌN timpanist Keith Hammer III.