Concert Performances

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7

The Orchestra Now (TŌN), conducted by Leon Botstein, performs Beethoven‘s Symphony No. 7 in a livestreamed, physically distanced concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on May 1, 2021.

0:12 Poco sostenuto—Vivace (a little sustained, then lively)
13:21 Allegretto (moderately fast)
21:55 Presto (quickly)
31:41 Allegro con brio (fast, with spirit)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Born: c. 12/16/1770 in Bonn, Germany
Died: 3/26/1827 at age 56 in Vienna

Written: 1811–12, at age 41
Premiered: 12/8/1813 at the University of Vienna; Beethoven, conductor
First TŌN Performance: 4/13/2019 at Olin Hall at Bard College; Zachary Schwartzman, conductor

Concert notes by TŌN oboist JJ Silvey.