Concert Performances

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5

The Orchestra Now (TŌN), conducted by Leon Botstein, performs Beethoven‘s Symphony No. 5 in a livestreamed, physically distanced concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on May 1, 2021.

0:14 Allegro con brio (fast, with spirit)
7:09 Andante con moto (moderately slow, with motion)
15:31 Allegro (fast)
20:11 Allegro (fast)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Born: c. 12/16/1770 in Bonn, Germany
Died: 3/26/1827 at age 56 in Vienna

Written: 1804–08, in Beethoven’s mid 30s
Premiered: 12/22/1808 at Theater an der Wien in Vienna; Beethoven, conductor
First TŌN Performance: 1/29/2016 at Carnegie Hall in NYC; Leon Botstein, conductor

Concert notes by TŌN bassoonist Philip McNaughton.