Audio Recordings

Eugene Goossens’ Jubilee Variations

As we head in to Veterans’ Day in the United States, we offer a unique composition with a distinctly American sound written by eleven American composers. In celebration of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra’s 50th Anniversary in 1945, conductor and composer Eugene Goossens wrote a theme and finale, and invited ten other composers—including Aaron CoplandWilliam SchumanWalter Piston, and Roy Harris—to write variations. TŌN gave the NY premiere of this rarely-performed work at the Fisher Center at Bard two years ago this week under the baton of Gerard Schwarz. You can read brief concert notes by clicking here.

0:00 Theme: Goossens
00:42 Variation 1: Paul Creston
1:49 Variation 2: Aaron Copland
3:11 Variation 3: Deems Taylor
5:42 Variation 4: Howard Hanson
7:41 Variation 5: William Schuman
9:37 Variation 6: Walter Piston
11:20 Variation 7: Roy Harris
14:00 Variation 8: Anis Fuleihan
16:03 Variation 9: Bernard Rogers
18:16 Variation 10: Ernest Bloch
20:22 Finale: Goossens