Whose 20th Century?


Leon Botstein conductor
Zlata Chochieva piano

Presented by the Bard Music Festival

7 PM Pre-Concert Talk
8 PM Performance

In Program Nine, Bard presents a sampling of the extraordinarily diverse array of musical styles and approaches on offer in 1930.

These range from the experimentalism of Henry Cowell’s avant-garde theater piece Atlantis, which only received its New York premiere under Botstein’s leadership in 2010, to Grofé’s more accessible tone poem Grand Canyon Suite, a one-time audience favorite; the Suite from Shostakovich’s satirical, politically charged ballet, The Golden Age; Respighi’s orchestral transcriptions of Rachmaninoff’s Études-tableaux; and the Russian composer’s own accomplished but seldom-performed Fourth Piano Concerto, with celebrated Rachmaninoff interpreter Zlata Chochieva as soloist.


Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Minor, Op. 40
Respighi From Five Ètudes-tableaux
Ferde Grofé Grand Canyon Suite 
Shostakovich From Suite from The Golden Age, Op. 22b
Henry Cowell Atlantis

The Bard Music Festival

The Bard Music Festival returns for its 32nd season with an exploration of the life and work of Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873–1943), perhaps the last great exponent of Russian Romanticism, who nevertheless embodied many contradictions. Through a series of themed concert programs, lectures, and panel discussions, Rachmaninoff and His World explores such themes as composition during the Cold War, virtuoso pianists and their public, and America’s ongoing love affair with Rachmaninoff’s music.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.