Shostakovich & Dawson


Leon Botstein conductor

Part of TŌN’s Fisher Center concert series

TŌN begins its seventh season with William L. Dawson’s distinctive and emotionally charged Negro Folk Symphony. The composer said he wanted listeners to know that it was “unmistakably not the work of a white man.” Also on the program is Shostakovich’s enormous and patriotic 7th Symphony, Leningrad, written largely after he had fled the city following the German invasion during WWII.


>Read the concert program

Brief remarks by TŌN violist Sean Flynn

William L. Dawson Negro Folk Symphony
33 min
>Read concert notes written by TŌN bassist Tristen Jarvis

20 min

Brief remarks by TŌN flutist Leanna Ginsburg

Dmitri Shostakovich Symphony No. 7, Leningrad
74 min
>Read concert notes written by TŌN violist Celia Daggy

Sample the Music

William L. Dawson Negro Folk Symphony

Shostakovich Symphony No. 7, Leningrad

William L. Dawson photo via Tuskegee University Archives

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.