Tchaikovsky, William Tell & The Mermaid


Leon Botstein conductor

Part of TŌN’s Fisher Center concert series

Leon Botstein starts off our spring 2022 season with a concert of audience favorites, beginning with Rossini’s iconic William Tell Overture. Next up is Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tale The Little Mermaid, richly orchestrated by Austrian composer Alexander Zemlinsky. And finally, we close with Tchaikovsky’s final completed symphony, the Pathétique, which the composer called his “Passionate Symphony.”


>Read the concert program

Brief remarks by TŌN horn player Zachary Travis

Gioachino Rossini William Tell Overture
12 min
>Read concert notes by TŌN horn player Shane Conley

Brief remarks by TŌN cellist Jordan Gunn

Alexander Zemlinsky The Little Mermaid
43 min
>Read concert notes by TŌN clarinetist Mackenzie Austin

20 min

Brief remarks by TŌN flutist Rebecca Tutunick

Pyotr Il’yich Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6, Pathétique
45 min
>Read concert notes by TŌN cellist Chas Barnard

Sample the Music

Rossini William Tell Overture

Alexander Zemlinsky The Little Mermaid

Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6, Pathétique

Photo by David DeNee

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.