Concert Performances

Clara Schumann’s Piano Concerto

The Orchestra Now, conducted by Leon Botstein, and pianist Anna Polonsky perform Clara Schumann‘s Piano Concerto in a livestreamed concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on April 2, 2022.

0:44 Allegro maestoso (fast and majestic)
7:14 Romanze: Andante non troppo con grazia (moderately slow, with grace)
11:34 Finale: Allegro non troppo (fast, but not too fast)

Clara Schumann
Born: 9/13/1819 in Leipzig, Germany
Died: 5/20/1896 at age 76 in Frankfurt

Written: 1833–35, in Clara’s mid-teens
Premiered 11/9/1835; Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra; Felix Mendelssohn, conductor; Schumann née Wieck, piano

Concert notes by TŌN trumpeter Diana Lopez.